Victoria (VIC)

Alan Padgham

NUS Victoria State Branch President

The Victorian State Branch has historically been one of the most active state branches in the National Union of Students, with rallies and events hosted by NUS in Victoria being some of the biggest in the history of NUS. Our strength as a state branch comes from our diversity, both in terms of the people who get involved and the campuses that we represent; the Victorian branch aims to represent students at the big research universities, and at small and regional campuses that we have scattered across our state, and everything in between.

Victorian students also face a particular set of issues in comparison with students from other states; we are one of the only states without mandated student representation on University Councils, and International Students in Victoria are still not entitled to concession cards. Further, the structure of the TAFE system in Victoria also means that many TAFE students are engaged with NUS-affiliated student organisations on their campuses, with RMIT, Victoria University and Swinburne all being examples of this phenomenon.

This year, with the recent election of a new government in Victoria, we hope to make inroads into guaranteeing student representation in all levels of university administration, and also ensuring that International Students are treated fairly when it comes to being granted concession cards. We are also involved in all of NUS’ national campaigns, so there truly is something for everyone if you want to get involved.

Make sure that you keep up to date with events that are coming up by monitoring this website (or even RSS is) and get involved with the National Union of Students in the greatest state in the Commonwealth.

To find your campus student union in VIC look no further:

Deakin University Deakin University Students’ Association
La Trobe University La Trobe Student Union
Monash University - Clayton Monash Students’ Association
Monash University - Caulfield MONSU Caulfield
Monash University - Peninsula MONSU Peninsula
Federation University - Gippsland MUGSU
Monash University - Berwick Monash Union of Berwick Students
Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology RMIT University Student Union
Swinburne University of Technology Swinburne Student Union
University of Melbourne University of Melbourne Student Union
Victoria University Victoria University Student Union