The National Union of Students

NUS is the peak representative body for Australian undergraduate university students. We seek to protect and advance the rights and interests of undergraduate students by working with campus-based student organisations, running actions and campaigns, and making sure the voices of students are heard by parliamentarians.

The National Union of Students highest decision making body is NUS National Conference held in December each year. Each affiliated campus elects delegates from the student body at their annual elections to attend and help determine the policy of NUS, as well as elect the National and State Office Bearers for the coming year.

NUS Constitution

2019 NUS National Office Bearers:

National President
Desiree Cai
president@nus.asn.au
National General Secretary
Michael Iroeche
gensec@nus.asn.au
National Education Officer
Lachlan Barker
education@nus.asn.au
National Welfare Officer
Adriana Malavisi
welfare@nus.asn.au
National Womens Officer
Sarah Tynan
womens@nus.asn.au
National Queer Officer
Steven Blacker and Tess Dimos
queer@nus.asn.au
National Ethno-Cultural
Officer Hersha Kadkol
ethno-cultural@nus.asn.au
National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Officer
Alfred Lowe
atsi@nus.asn.au
National Disabilities Officer
Will Edwards
disabilities@nus.asn.au
National Small and Regional Officer
Jordan Mumford
sr@nus.asn.au
National International Students Officer
Alex Wang
international@nus.asn.au

2018 State Presidents:

State Name Email
New South Wales Alexi Cassis nsw.pres@nus.asn.au
Victoria Samuel Roberts vic.pres@nus.asn.au
South Australia Ali Amin sa.pres@nus.asn.au
Western Australia Christopher Hall wa.pres2019@nus.asn.au

2019 General Members of NUS National Executive:

  • Katt Hatzi (Flinders University)

  • Lincoln Aspinal (University of Western Australia)

  • Tanika Sibal (Australian National University)

  • Catherine Abourizk (Victoria University)

  • Sheldon Gait (RMIT University)

  • Max Kennedy (University of New South Wales)

  • Noah Beckmann (University of South Australia)

  • Braedon Waddell (Deakin University)

  • Kai Donaldson (Murdoch University)

  • Jack Hinchliffe (Griffith University)

  • Ella Gvildys (RMIT University)

  • Nicholas Pagonis (Australian National University)

The NUS National Executive governs NUS and supervises its activities between conferences, it is made up of NUS National Officers (non-voting), State Branch Presidents and General Members.

NUS National Office

16 Baillie Street

North Melbourne, VIC 3051

Email: admin@nus.asn.au