The National Union of Students

NUS is the peak representative body for Australian undergraduate university students. We seek to protect and advance the rights and interests of undergraduate students by working with campus-based student organisations, running actions and campaigns, and making sure the voices of students are heard by parliamentarians.

The National Union of Students highest decision making body is NUS National Conference held in December each year. Each affiliated campus elects delegates from the student body at their annual elections to attend and help determine the policy of NUS, as well as elect the National and State Office Bearers for the coming year.

NUS Constitution

2018 NUS National Office Bearers:

National President
Mark Pace
National General Secretary
Jacob Cripps
National Education Officer
Con Karavias
National Welfare Officer
Jordon O’Rielly
National Womens Officer
Kate Crossin
National Queer Officer
Kim Stern and Jasmine Duff
National Ethno-Cultural
Officer Hersha Kadkol
National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Officer
Tyson McEwan
National Disabilities Officer
Kayla Dickenson
National Small and Regional Officer
James Callow
National International Students Officer
Ziqi Han

2018 State Presidents:

State Name Email
New South Wales Connor Wherrett
Victoria Lily Xia
South Australia Jordon Mumford
Western Australia Jason Lawrence
Queensland Chelsea Bently

2018 General Members of NUS National Executive:

  • Sam Roberts (Swinburne University)

  • Niall Cummins (Australian National University)

  • Michael Iroeche (La Trobe University)

  • Max Kennedy (University of New Sounth Wales)

  • Jessica-Mary Jaja (University of Sydney)

  • Aditya Sharma (RMIT)

  • Aidan Johnson (University of Adelaide)

  • Justine Whaley (RMIT)

  • Hamish Richardson (Flinders University)

  • Jasmine Birch (Victoria University)

  • Finlay Nolan (University of Western Australia)

  • Inez Penrose (University of Queensland)

The NUS National Executive governs NUS and supervises its activities between conferences, it is made up of NUS National Officers (non-voting), State Branch Presidents and General Members.

NUS National Office

16 Baillie Street

North Melbourne, VIC 3051